group preseason 2019

Chicago Fire defeats Charleston Battery 1-0 in Carolina Challenge Cup

CHARLESTON, S.C. (Feb. 23, 2019) - The Chicago Fire Soccer Club concluded its 2019 preseason slate with a 1-0 win over the Charleston Battery in the 2019 Carolina Challenge Cup at MUSC Health Stadium on Saturday night. Forward Fabian Herbers scored the Fire's lone goal in the 85th minute of play, tallying his first goal of the tournament.

With the 1-0 victory, the Fire finished the Carolina Challenge Cup tied with Columbus Crew SC for the most points (five) in the tournament. The tiebreaker between the Fire and Crew SC was ultimately determined by goal difference. As a result, the Fire concluded the CCC in second place with a plus-one goal difference, while Crew SC finished with a plus-three goal difference.

The Men in Red will begin the 2019 MLS season with an away match against the LA Galaxy at Dignity Health Sports Park on Saturday, March 2, beginning at 7:00 p.m. CT. The Fire's 2019 home opener will take place the following weekend when the team hosts Orlando City SC at SeatGeek Stadium on Saturday, March 9, beginning at 12:00 p.m. CT.

Match notes:

  • Saturday's match marked the Fire's final preseason contest in 2019.
  • With the 1-0 result, the Fire finished the Carolina Challenge Cup with an unbeaten 1-2-0 record (W-D-L) in the tournament.
  • With a win and two draws in the CCC, the Fire concluded the tournament in second place with five points.
  • The Fire's all-time record in CCC play currently stands at 4-5-2 (W-D-L), dating back to the 2011 campaign.

Box Score:
Chicago Fire 1:0 Charleston Battery

Scoring Summary:
Herbers (1) (Moreno) 85'

Misconduct Summary:
Schweinsteiger (Caution) 61'

Chicago Fire: Ousted; Hasler (Gutjahr 74'), Marcelo, Kappehof, Corrales; McCarty © (Adams 74'), Schweinsteiger (Bronico 74'); Katai (Herbers 74'), Mihailovic (Martinez 63'), Frankowski (Moreno 74'); Nikolic

Charleston Battery: Kuzminsky; Bolt, Archer, Woodbine (Marini 80'), van Schaik © (Nimband 62'); Lewis (Piggot 64'), Cadela, Kelly, Anunga, (Mason 67') Higashi (Rittmeyer 60'); Svantesson (Sullivan 67')