Rodrigo Ramos

Chicago Fire Advance to U.S. Open Cup Quarterfinal with 2-1 Win over Columbus Crew SC

BRIDGEVIEW, Ill. (June 28, 2016) – The Chicago Fire advanced to the 103rd Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Quarterfinals with a 2-1 win against Columbus Crew SC on Tuesday at Toyota Park.

MORE: Match Highlights | Matchcenter

David Accam provided two first-half goals and Chicago’s defensive effort held on for the win in the end. The Fire will now host the winner of Orlando City SC (MLS) and Fort Lauderdale Strikers (NASL) in the quarterfinals on Wednesday, July 20. The Chicago Fire will be making their 13th all-time appearance in the U.S. Open Cup quarterfinals, third-most in tournament history and second-most among MLS clubs. Chicago also boasts the most wins (38) of any team in the tournament’s modern era.

Accam scored his first goal seven minutes into the match. John Goossens provided the final pass before Accam crushed his shot into the far corner from just outside the box. He added a second 22 minutes later, volleying home a pinpoint cross from Rodrigo Ramos after a lengthy buildup.

The Crew pulled one back from the penalty spot in the 79th minute. Ethan Finlay took the shot, slotting it into the lower right corner.

The Men in Red return to action against the San Jose Earthquakes on Friday, July 1 at Toyota Park. Kickoff is 7 p.m. CT on UniMas and 97.5 Poder.

103rd Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup – Round of 16
Chicago Fire (MLS) 2:1 Columbus Crew SC (MLS)
June 28, 2016 – Toyota Park
Attendance: 6,190

Scoring Summary:
CHI – David Accam (John Goossens) 7’
CHI – David Accam (Rodrigo Ramos, Nick LaBrocca) 29’
CLB – Ethan Finlay (penalty kick) 79’

Misconduct Summary:
CHI – Nick LaBrocca (caution) 53’
CHI – Rodrigo Ramos (caution) 66’
CLB – Tyson Wahl (caution) 90’

Chicago Fire: Matt Lampson, Rodrigo Ramos, Johan Kappelhof, Jonathan Campbell, Brandon Vincent, Nick LaBrocca, Michael Stephens, Razvan Cocis ©, John Goossens (Eric Gehrig 60’), David Accam (Joao Meira 69’), Kennedy Igboananike (Joey Calistri 80’).

Shots: 11; Shots On-Goal: 3; Saves: 1; Fouls: 12; Corners: 6; Offsides: 2

Columbus Crew SC: Brad Stuver, Tyson Wahl, Michael Parkhurst ©, Chad Barson, Waylon Francis, Hector Jimenez, Rodrigo Saravia, Tony Tchani (Wil Trapp HT), Justin Meram (Emil Larsen 67’), Ola Kamara (Ethan Finlay HT), Christian Martinez.

Shots: 16; Shots On-Goal: 2; Saves: 1; Fouls: 7; Corners: 7; Offsides: 1