Chicago Fire Defeat Colorado Rapids 2-1 in Desert Diamond Cup Opener

TUCSON, Ariz. (Feb. 19, 2014) – The Chicago Fire opened Desert Diamond Cup action with a 2-1 win over the Colorado Rapids Wednesday afternoon. The Fire found first half goals from Grant Ward and Quincy Amarikwa before a Gabriel Torres strike in the 68th minute cut the Fire’s lead in half.
The Men in Red opened scoring in the 37th minute with brilliant efforts from Benji Joya and Ward. Joya received the ball and slalomed through the Rapids defense and found Ward, who took a few touches to settle and from 30-yards out, sent his right-footed shot over Rapids ‘keeper John Berner and into goal.
Just three minutes later the Fire would double their lead when Joya was fouled on the right touchline. Harry Shipp’s free kick found Hunter Jumper on the back post. Jumper headed it down for Jhon Kennedy Hurtado, who found Austin Berry on the back post. The 2012 MLS Rookie of the Year stretched to reach the ball and played it across the face of the goal to Amarikwa, who tapped it into the open net for the 2-0 lead.
The Rapids pulled one back in the 68th minute when Dillon Serna combined with Gabriel Torres to cut the deficit in half.
Next up for the Fire in Desert Diamond Cup action are hosts FC Tucson on Saturday, Feb. 22 at 2:00 p.m. CT.
Single game tickets to the Fire’s 17 MLS Regular Season home matches and to the July 26 international friendly against Barclay’s Premier League side Tottenham Hotspur FC are now available via Ticketmaster and
Chicago Fire 2 – 1 Colorado Rapids
Chicago Fire: Kyle Reynish; Austin Berry, Jhon Kennedy Hurtado (Parker Walsh^ 63’), Hunter Jumper; Thomas Piermayr^, Logan Pause ©, Victor Pineda, Benji Joya, Harry Shipp (Yazid Atouba 63’); Grant Ward^, Quincy Amarikwa (Giuseppe Gentile 63’)
Subs not used: Alec Kann, Marco Franco*
* - 2014 MLS SuperDraft Pick
^- Guest Player

Colorado Rapids: John Berner (Joe Nasco 46'); Albert Edward (Nathan Sturgis 46'), Jared Watts (Marvell Wynne 46'), Drew Moor (Grant Van De Casteele 46'), Chris Klute (Dillon Serna 46'); Juan Guzman (José Mari 46'), Samuel Galindo (Edson Buddle 65'); Vicente Sanchez (Marvin Chavez 46'), Marlon Hairston (Kamani Hill 46'), Charles Eloundou (Nick LaBrocca 46'); Deshorn Brown (Gabriel Torres 46')
Scoring Summary
CHI – Grant Ward (Benji Joya) 37’
CHI – Quincy Amarikwa (Austin Berry) 40’
COL – Gabriel Torres (Dillon Serna) 68’
Misconduct Summary
COL – Jose Mari (caution) 75’