Reserve League

Reserve League: Fire defeat Real Salt Lake 1-0

CHICAGO, IL – The Chicago Fire (1-0-0, 3 points) used Corben Bone’s ninth minute volley to earn 1-0 victory over Real Salt Lake (0-2-1, 1 point) in MLS Reserve League action Tuesday morning at the Toyota Park practice field.

The Fire got the lone goal early when Corben Bone pounced on a loose ball at the top of the box and slotted his first-time volley past RSL ‘keeper Kyle Reynish.

Real Salt Lake continued to threaten the Fire goal with consecutive shots from Will Johnson in the 29th and 32nd minutes, only to be deterred by nice defensive efforts by the Fire.

Johnson again tested the Fire in the 50th minute with a long distance effort that was well saved by Fire ‘keeper Jay Nolly.

The Fire nearly doubled their lead three minutes later when they were awarded a free kick from 40 yards out. Daniel Paladini’s ensuing free kick found the head of Rafael Robayo who put his effort just wide of Reynish’s goal.

Fire SuperDraft selection Lucky Mkosana had a chance to put the game away in the 89th minute, breaking through the RSL defense and into the box uncontested before Reynish sprawled out to keep the score 1-0.

MLS Reserve League: Chicago Fire 1 – 0 Real Salt Lake

Scoring Summary:

CHI – Corben Bone (unassisted) 9’

Disciplinary Summary:

CHI – Daniel Paladini (caution) 70’

Chicago Fire Reserves –  Jay Nolly; Tony Walls, Kwame Watson-Siriboe, Austin Berry, Hunter Jumper; Rafael Robayo (Victor Pineda 62’), Daniel Paladini, Michael Videira; Corben Bone; Orr Barouch (Lucky Mkosana* 77’), Federico Puppo (Kheli Dube 59’)

Substitutes not used:  Paolo Tornaghi, Keaton Albert**, Luis Baraja**, Kellen Gulley

Real Salt Lake - Kyle Reynish; Chris Estridge*, Carlos Salcedo**, Leone Cruz, Terukazu, Tanaka (Nico Muniz 73’), Yordany Alvarez, Will Johnson (Diogo de Almeida 73’), Jonathan Steele, Enzo Martinez, Emilio Bonfigli; Jose Carlos Nunez* (Eti Travares** 57’)

Substitutes not used: Lalo Fernandez, **Ricardo Velasco

*Guest trialist

** Academy player

Referee: Michael Kennedy
Assistant Referees: Khalaf Al-Latayfeh, Nikola Aleksic

Fourth Official: Cesar Ibarra