Sean Johnson

Johnson Earns U.S. Call-Up

U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Bob Bradley has named Chicago Fire goalkeeper Sean Johnson to the training camp roster that will begin gathering Jan. 4 at U.S. Soccer's National Training Center at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. The 21-year-old Fire ‘keeper is among the group of 24 that will prepare for the USA’s first match of 2011, a friendly against fellow FIFA World Cup finalists Chile on Jan. 22 at The HDC. Kickoff is set for 8 PM CT, with broadcast information to be announced at a later date. Fans can follow the game live via’s MatchTracker or on twitter @ussoccer.

Johnson earns his first call to the U.S. Men’s National Team after a strong second-half of the season for the Fire and will have the opportunity to earn his first cap for the full team. During his MLS rookie campaign Johnson made 52 saves with a 1.31 GAA and three shutouts in 13 starts, after becoming the Fire’s number one goalkeeper in early August.

The Lilburn, GA product is one for four players on the roster to have youth World Cup experience. Johnson went with the U-20 National Team to the FIFA U-20 World Cup in Egypt in 2009.

Major League Soccer is well represented, with 10 clubs contributing a total of 20 players to the Carson camp.

The annual camp held in January for players in their offseason is a largely domestic-based group that includes 20 players who ply their trade in the United States, and the coaching staff is taking full advantage of the opportunity to assess new talent. With an average age of just above 23 years old, half of the players can earn their first cap for the full team.


GOALKEEPERS (4): Dominic Cervi (Celtic), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Matt Pickens (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (9): A.J. DeLaGarza (Los Angeles Galaxy), Sean Franklin (Los Angeles Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (Los Angeles Galaxy), Ugo

Ihemelu (FC Dallas), Zach Loyd (FC Dallas), Ryan Miller (Halmstads BK), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls), Anthony Wallace (Colorado

Rapids), Marvell Wynne (Colorado Rapid)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Eric Alexander (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Örebro), Sam Cronin (San Jose Earthquakes), Mikkel Diskerud (Stabaek),

Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids), Dax McCarty (D.C. United), Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

FORWARDS (4): Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Justin Braun (Chivas USA), Teal Bunbury (Sporting Kansas City), Chris Wondolowski

(San Jose Earthquakes)