Matt Lampson Named Finalist for MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year, presented by Advocare

CHICAGO (Nov. 1, 2016) – Chicago Fire goalkeeper Matt Lampson has been named as a finalist for the 2016 MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year, presented by Advocare.

Inspired by his own battle with Stage IV Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, Lampson created The LampStrong Foundation in 2014, a non-profit organization dedicated to providing difference-making financial, emotional and motivational support to cancer patients and their families. The foundation has raised more than $30,000 to date and Lampson has worked tirelessly to positively influence the lives of those battling cancer and encourage survivors to make the most of their second chance at life. Now nine-years cancer free, Lampson expanded his Hero Program to Chicago, hosting survivors and patients at Fire home and away games, helping the kids and families find a break from the emotional grind of dealing with cancer treatments and its effects.

WATCH: Lampson discusses fight against childhood cancer

The Hilliard, Ohio native signed with the Fire on Feb. 26, 2016 after spending the first four seasons of his career with Columbus Crew SC. In 11 regular season appearances for the Men In Red, Lampson earned three shutouts and set a new club record with a 412 minute shutout streak between March 11 and April 16. Lampson additionally finished the season sixth in the league with a 72.4 saves percentage.

The finalists for Humanitarian of the Year were determined by votes from national media members, MLS players, technical staffs and front offices. The other finalists for Humanitarian of the Year are New York Red Bulls goalkeeper Luis Robles and LA Galaxy forward Gyasi Zardes. Lampson is the fourth player in Fire history to be nominated for the Humanitarian of the Year, previously won by Diego Gutierrez in 2007 and Logan Pause in 2009. Click here for a complete look at the 2016 Humanitarian of the Year nominees of all 20 MLS clubs. 

The winner of the MLS Works Humanitarian of the Year award will be announced on Nov. 3.