Sean Johnson USMNT DL

Sean Johnson Named To U.S. Men’s National Team Training Camp Roster

CHICAGO (Jan. 9, 2015) – Chicago Fire goalkeeper Sean Johnson has been selected by United States Men’s National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann to participate in the annual January training camp at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center in Carson, Calif. from Jan. 12 to Feb 8. 

After 12 days in California, the group will depart for Santiago, Chile to train from Jan. 25-29 before taking on Chile in a friendly on Wednesday, Jan. 28 at Estadio El Teniente in Rancagua. The camp concludes with a friendly against Panama on Feb. 8 at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. at 3 p.m. CT (ESPN/UniMas/Univision Deportes).                               

A Lilburn, Ga. product, Johnson made his international debut on Jan. 22, 2011 against Chile. Johnson earned his first start for the U.S. Men’s National Team and earned the shutout in a 0-0 draw with Canada at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas Jan. 29. The 25-year-old ‘keeper has been capped four times and was part of the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup winning team. In five seasons as a professional, Johnson has 133 regular season appearances for the Men in Red, earning 27 shutouts and making 421 career saves. 

This is the second consecutive year Hyde will serves as a guest coach for the January camp. Hyde also joined the national team for the friendly against Mexico at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz. on April 2. 

A native of Birmingham, England, Hyde enters his sixth season as the Fire’s goalkeeping coach and currently hold his USSF A and USSF Goalkeeping Licenses, and his UEFA A Coaching License.                                                                                                                                                                                             


GOALKEEPERS (4): Alex Bono (unattached), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Jon Kempin (Sporting Kansas City), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake) 

DEFENDERS (8): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Christian Dean (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (out of contract), Dennis Flores (Club Leon), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United FC), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Marc Pelosi (Liverpool FC), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)  

FORWARDS (6): Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julio Morales (Tepic), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)