Chicago Fire Earn First Win of the Season With 5-4 Victory Over New York Red Bulls

HARRISON, NJ (Saturday, May 10, 2014) – The Chicago Fire (1-2-6, nine points) earned a thrilling 5-4 victory over the New York Red Bulls (3-3-5, 14 points) Saturday evening at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, NJ. Fire Homegrown rookie Harry Shipp and Bradley Wright-Phillips traded hat tricks but Quincy Amarikwa and Patrick Nyarko added goals as the Fire emerged victorious.

Shipp’s goal in the fourth minute of the match was his first career professional goal and the first goal scored by a Fire Homegrown Player in a MLS match.

The Fire return home and host reigning MLS Cup champions Sporting Kansas City, presented by Nicor Gas Energy Efficiency Program, on Sunday, May 18 at 2 p.m. CT (My50/TWCSC Wisconsin/La Ley). Tickets for the match are available via Ticketmaster or Following the match, the Fire will host the Richmond Kickers in MLS Reserve League action at 4:30 p.m. CT on the Toyota Park Stadium Field. Fans attending the first team match are encouraged to remain in the stadium between matches. Fans entering Toyota Park for the Reserve game will be allowed entry upon the conclusion of the first match 





The result marked the first win for the Fire this season.

Harry Shipp’s goal in the 4th minute was the first of his professional career and the first goal in Fire history scored by a Homegrown Player.

Shipp’s hat trick is the first for the Fire since Marco Pappa’s on Sept. 28, 2011.

Chicago Fire  5 – 4 New York Red Bulls

Chicago Fire: Sean Johnson; Lovel Palmer, Jhon Kennedy Hurtado, Patrick Ianni, Greg Cochrane; Patrick Nyarko (Logan Pause 68’), Jeff Larentowicz ©, Benji Joya (Gonzalo Segares 83’), Harry Shipp (Juan Luis Anangono 90+’); Mike Magee, Quincy Amarikwa

Substitutes not used: Kyle Reynish, Chris Ritter, Dilly Duka, Matt Watson

New York Red Bulls: Luis Robles; Jamison Olave, Kosuke Kimura (Peguy Luyindula 66’), Roy Miller, Armando; Tim Cahill, Dax McCarty, Lloyd Sam, Eric Alexander (Johnny Stele 65’); Thierry Henry ©, Bradley Wright-Phillips

Substitutes not used: Richard Eckersley, Andre Akpan, Connor Lade, Ryan Meara, Ibrahim Sekagya

Scoring Summary

CHI – Harry Shipp (Greg Cochrane) 4’

NY – Tim Cahill (Eric Alexander) 6’

NY – Bradley Wright-Phillips (Theirry Henry) 39’

CHI – Quincy Amarikwa (Jeff Larentowicz) 49’

CHI – Harry Shipp (Patrick Nyarko) 54’ 

CHI – Harry Shipp (unassisted) 58’

CHI – Patrick Nyarko (Harry Shipp) 64’

NY – Bradley Wright-Phillips (Lloyd Sam, Johnny Steele) 67’

NY – Bradley Wright-Phillips (penalty kick) 78’

Misconduct Summary

NY – Tim Cahill (caution) 93’

Referee: Kevin Stott

Assistants: Brian Poeschel, Felisha Mariscal
Fourth Official: Mark Geiger

Attendance: 23,776