Hunter Jumper
Alice Keeney

RESERVES: Last minute goal sees Fire fall 2-1 at Red Bull Tuesday

HANOVER, NJ (August 27, 2013) – The Red Bulls reserves defeated the Chicago Fire’s reserves, 2-1, Tuesday morning at the Red Bulls Training Facility, with New York midfielder Marius Obekop scoring the winner in the 90th minute.

The Red Bulls were the first to put their names on the scoresheet. In the seventh minute, Amando Moreno took a shot from the side of the net that was saved by Fire goalkeeper Paolo Tornaghi. Michael Bustamante was able to get his foot on the rebound and fired the ball into the net. In the 19th minute, the Fire would get the equalizer when Daniel Paladini sent a cross into the box and Hunter Jumper got space to head the ball into the upper left corner of the goal past Ryan Meara.

Chicago had a chance to take the lead in the 31st minute when Corben Bone made a nice cut back move on his defender at the top of the 18-yard box and blasted a low shot off his right foot, rolling it just wide of the post. In the 44th minute, Red Bulls forward Bradley Wright-Phillips elevated and headed the ball just over the crossbar off a cross into the box from Arun Basuljevic.

In the 68th minute, Chicago’s Juan Luis Anangono had the ball from six-yards out and fired a shot right at Santiago Castano, who stayed on his line and made the save. Then in the 84th minute, Castano made another big stop, diving to his right on an attempt from Maicon Santos.

The winning goal would come for the Red Bulls in the 90th minute. Obekop had space and sprinted down the left wing with the ball at his feet. He blasted a low shot into the bottom right corner of the net, past a diving Tornaghi to give New York the win.

New York Red Bulls 2, Chicago Fire 1
August 27, 2013 – Red Bulls Training Facility – Hanover, NJ

MLS Reserve League

Scoring Summary:  
NY: Michael Bustamante (unassisted) 7’
CHI: Hunter Jumper (Daniel Paladini) 19’
NY: Marius Obekop (unassisted) 90’

Disciplinary Summary:
CHI: Mike Videira (caution) 24’

New York Red Bulls – Ryan Meara (Santiago Castano 61), Arun Basuljevic*, Kevin Politz*, Matt Miazga, David Carney (Chris Lema* 77’), Lloyd Sam (Henry Martin* 70’), Marius Obekop, Ruben Bover, Michael Bustamante, Amando Moreno, Bradley Wright-Phillips (Matt Eliason* 46’)

Substitutes Not Used: None

Chicago Fire – Paolo Tornaghi, Mike Videira (Victor Pineda 70’), Steve Kinney, Hunter Jumper, Shaun Francis, Logan Pause, Daniel Paladini (Yazid Atouba 61’), Corben Bone, Wells Thompson, Juan Luis Anangono (Brendan King 65’), Quincy Amarikwa (Maicon Santos 59’)

Substitutes Not Used: Alec Kann

Referee: Kris Larwa
Referee’s Assistants: Bartosz Cieslak, Martin Flores
4th Referee: Garry Beauliere

* - Guest player