The Fire will protect eleven players ahead of the 2010 Expansion Draft

Fire Protect 11 Ahead Of 2010 Exp. Draft

The Chicago Fire Soccer Club announced their 11 protected players ahead of the 2010 MLS Expansion Draft on Wednesday, Nov. 24 at 1 PM CT via conference call and streaming live on The Portland Timbers and Vancouver Whitecaps will alternate selections through 10 rounds, selecting 20 players total from MLS’ other 16 clubs. Portland has the first overall pick; Vancouver will select first in the MLS SuperDraft in Baltimore, MD on Thursday, Jan. 13 at 11:00 AM CT.   

“With two teams participating in the expansion draft, you have to make difficult choices,” said Fire Technical Director Frank Klopas. “This list reflects what makes the best sense for the team at this point in time.”

Protected (11):

Mike Banner – MID 

Calen Carr – FWD

Wilman Conde – DEF

Baggio Husidic – MID

Steven Kinney – DEF

Patrick Nyarko – MID

Marco Pappa – MID

Logan Pause – MID

Bratislav Ristic – MID

Gonzalo Segares - DEF

Kwame Watson-Siriboe – DEF

Unprotected (9):

Nery Castillo - MID

Andrew Dykstra – GK

Collins John - FWD

Krzysztof Krol - DEF

Freddie Ljungberg – MID

Peter Lowry – MID

Dasan Robinson – DEF 

John Thorrington - MID

Deris Umanzor – DEF

Players unavailable for selection due to Generation adidas/Home Grown status (3):

Corben Bone – MID

Sean Johnson – GK

Victor Pineda - MID