Marco Pappa has been awarded the AT&T Goal of the Year honor.
Getty Images/

AT&T Goal of the Year winner: Marco Pappa

Fans, you've seen the runner-ups. Today we reveal the winner of this year's AT&T Goal of the Year: the Chicago Fire's Marco Pappa.

Pappa tallied the wonder-strike in Week 3, against San Jose in the Fire's home opener on April 10.

After some clever wing work by Patrick Nyarko, Collins John laid the ball off to Pappa, who was positioned about 25 yards out. The Guatemalan then fired off a first-time effort with the outside of his left cleat, send the ball on a swerving path toward the upper 90 of Joe Cannon's goal.

The goal was Pappa's first of seven in 2010 — a career high for the 23-year-old, who added five assists in 25 regular-season appearances for the Fire. He also earned a selection to the MLS All-Star First XI and was featured in's 24 Under 24 profile series, which highlighted the hottest young talent in MLS.

Pappa becomes the third Chicago Fire player to take MLS Goal of the Year honors, following Damani Ralph in 2003 and Cuauhtemoc Blanco in 2007.

Get Microsoft Silverlight

AT&T Goal of the Year final ranking

1 Marco Pappa

2 Juninho (watch here)

3 Shea Salinas (watch here)

4 Rafa Márquez (watch here)

5 Fredy Montero (watch here)

The winner of the AT&T Goal of the Year will be revealed on Wednesday, November 17.