Nick Sintich Chicago Fire

Three Chicago Fire Academy Players Named To U.S. U-18 National Team Camp

CHICAGO (April 1, 2014) – The Chicago Fire Soccer Club announced Tuesday that current Chicago Fire Academy players Collin Fernandez, Cameron Lindley and Mauricio Pineda were named by U.S. Under-18 Men’s National Team head coach Javier Perez to take part in a training camp at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center in Carson, Calif., from April 4-13, 2014.
While in camp, the U.S. U-18 MNT has two friendly matches scheduled against the Canadian U-18 National Team on April 8 and against the Mexican U-18 National Team on April 12.
This is the first selection into the U.S. Youth National Team program for Mauricio Pineda, who is the younger brother of Fire Homegrown midfielder Victor Pineda.
Following the April camp, the U-18s will take part in the Lisbon International Tournament in Lisbon, Portugal at the end of May.
Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (3): Christian Herrera (Real Salt Lake AZ; Las Cruces, N.M.), Jonathan Klinsmann (Irvine Strikers; Newport Beach, Calif.), JT Marcinkowski (San Jose Earthquakes; Alamo, Calif.)
DEFENDERS (8): David Chavez (De Anza Force; Redwood City, Calif.), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake AZ; Tucson, Ariz.), Malcolm Jones (LA Galaxy; Chino Hills, Calif.), Quentin Pearson (Colorado Rapids; Longmont, Colo.), Pablo Pelaez (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire; Bolingbrook, Ill.), Alex Ramos (LA Galaxy; Reseda, Calif.), Tommy Redding (Orlando City SC; Oviedo, Fla.)
MIDFIELDERS (9): Mukwelle Akale (Minnesota Thunder; Minneapolis, Minn.), Kyle Scott (Chelsea; Bristol, England), Collin Fernandez (Chicago Fire; Downers Grove, Ill.), Patrick Jean-Giles (D.C. United; Lorton, Va.), Cameron Lindley (Chicago Fire; Carmel, Ind.), Stephen Payne (Chicago Magic PSG; Birmingham, Ala.), Sebastian Saucedo (Real Salt Lake AZ; Casa Grande, Ariz.), Ben Swanson (Crew Soccer Academy; Grove City, Ohio), Jackson Yueill (Minnesota Thunder; Bloomington, Minn.)
FORWARDS (4): Coy Craft (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Sebastian Elney (Boca United; Boca Raton, Fla.), Christian Lucatero (Houston Dynamo; Pasadena, Texas), Jorge Ruiz (LA Galaxy; Mission Hills, Calif.)