ESPN networks to broadcast 21 regular-season matches in 2011

Rivalries highlight schedule on ESPN, ESPN2, and ESPN Deportes

NEW YORK — Let's get ready to rumble. On national television.

The ESPN networks are set to broadcast 21 MLS regular-season matches in 2011, with a major emphasis on the fiercest rivalries in the league. The Cascadia Cup series in the Pacific Northwest, the Superclásico in Los Angeles, and the always-testy I-95 clashes between the New England Revolution, New York Red Bulls, Philadelphia Union, and D.C. United. ESPN2 will also show both bicoastal marquee matchups between the Galaxy and Red Bulls.

In total, there are four matches on ESPN and 17 on ESPN2. ESPN Deportes will broadcast all 21 matches. In addition, ESPN and ESPN2 have eight windows in the summer in order to broadcast international matches involving MLS clubs.

Date Time (ET) Match (home team listed first) Network
Tue, March 15 9:30 pm Seattle Sounders vs. LA Galaxy ESPN/Deportes
Sat, April 9 7:00 pm Philadelphia Union vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN2/Deportes
Thu, April 14 11:00 pm Portland Timbers vs. Chicago Fire ESPN2/Deportes
Thu, April 21 8:00 pm D.C. United vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN2/Deportes
Sat, May 7 11:00 pm  LA Galaxy vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN2/Deportes
Sat, May 14 11:00 pm Seattle Sounders vs. Portland Timbers ESPN2/Deportes
Sat, May 21 10:00 pm Chivas USA vs. LA Galaxy ESPN2/Deportes
Thu, June 9 10:00 pm Sporting Kansas City vs. Chicago Fire ESPN2/Deportes
Thu, June 23 10:00 pm Seattle Sounders vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN2/Deportes
Sun, June 26 2:00 pm Chicago Fire vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN/Deportes
Sat, July 2 10:30 pm San Jose Earthquakes vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN2/Deportes
Sun, July 3 9:00 pm Colorado Rapids vs. Houston Dynamo ESPN2/Deportes
Mon, July 4 8:30 pm Real Salt Lake vs. New England Revolution ESPN2/Deportes
Mon, July 4 10:30 pm LA Galaxy vs. Seattle Sounders ESPN2/Deportes
Sun, July 10 4:00 pm Portland Timbers vs. Seattle Sounders ESPN/Deportes
Wed, July 27 8:30 pm MLS All-Star Game TBD
Thu, August 18 9:00 pm Chicago Fire vs. D.C. United ESPN2/Deportes
Sun, August 28 7:00 pm New York Red Bulls vs. LA Galaxy ESPN2/Deportes
Thu, September 29 8:00 pm Philadelphia Union vs. D.C. United ESPN2/Deportes
Fri, October 14 10:30 pm Colorado Rapids vs. Real Salt Lake ESPN2/Deportes
Sun, October 16 9:00 pm LA Galaxy vs. Chivas USA ESPN/Deportes
Thu, October 20 8:00 pm New York Red Bulls vs. Philadelphia Union ESPN2/Deportes